Date, Venue, where to watch and all you need to know about the tournament.

The HSBC World Tour is a circuit of 26 tournaments held around the world. It is the year-ending badminton tournament, in which eight players and pairs in each of the five categories,

(Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles and, Mixed Doubles) who accumulate the highest-ranking points in the circuit, qualify for the event.

Date:11th to 15th December 2019.
Location: Guangzhou, China
Where to Watch: Live on Hotstar and Star Sports.
Total Prize Money: $1,500,000 (across all disciplines)

It has been a difficult year so far on the BWF tour for the Indian Shuttlers. With the likes of Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy and Sameer Verma facing consistency challenges and Saina Nehwal losing at early stages in the tournaments so far, this year.

In the men’s doubles category, the young duo, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and, Chirag Shetty missed a spot having missed a few tournaments due to injuries. 

In the previous, year India had only two representatives for the World Tour Final, i.e. PV Sindhu and Sameer Verma. Eventually, PV Sindhu went on to win the tournament after winning an exhaustive match against Tai Tzu Ying.

In spite of losing at early stages in most of the tournaments, PV Sindhu has qualified from India solely because of the World Championship title. She finished outside the top 8(15) on the BWF race to Guangzhou rankings. However, as per the BWF guidelines, World Champions get a direct entry to the World Tour Finals and she remains the lone qualifier from India this year.

The list of Shuttlers who have qualified for the BWF World Tour Finals are:

Men’s Singles:
Kento Momota (Japan)
Chou Tein Yein (Chinese Taipei)
Jonathan Christie (Indonesia)
Chen Long (China)
Victor Axelson (Denmark)
Anthony Sinisuja Ginting (Indonesia)
Anders Antonson (Denmark)
Wang Tzu Wei (Chinese Taipei)


Women’s Singles:
Chen Yu Fei (China)
Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand)
Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)
Nozomi Okuhara (Japan)
Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei)
He Bing Jiao (China)
Busanan Ongbamrungphun (Thailand)
PV Sindhu (India)


Men’s Doubles:
Marcus Fernaldi/Kevin Sanjaya (Indonesia)
Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan (Indonesia)
Takeshi Nakamura/Keigo Sonoda (Japan)
Li Jun Hui/Liu Yu Chen (China)
Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto (Indonesia)
Endo Hiroyuki/Yuta Watanabe (Japan)
Lu Ching Yao/Yang Po Han (Chinese Taipei)
Women’s Doubles:
Yuki Fukushim/Sayaka Hirota (Japan)
Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara (Japan)
Kim So Yeong/Hee Yong Kong (Korea)
Misaki Matsutomo/Ayaka Takahashi (Japan)
Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan (China)
Polli Greysia/Rahayu Apriyani (Indonesia)
Du Yue/Li Yin Hui (China)
Lee So Hee/Shin Seung Chan (Korea)


Mixed Doubles:
Dechapol/Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Thailand)
Si Wei Zheng/Ya Qiong Huang (China)
Chan Peng Soon/Liu Ying Goh (Malaysia)
Praveen Jordan/Melati Daeva Oktavianti (Indonesia)
Li Lyu Wang/Dong Ping Huang (China)
Yuta Watanabe/Higashino Arisa (China)
Hafiz Faizal/Widjaja Gloria Emanuelle (Indonesia)
Seung Jae Seo/YuJung Chae (Korea)

With the best of the players in the circuit, the HSBC BWF Tour Finals is all set to display an exciting badminton competitive environment with all the Indian fans hoping and pondering whether PV Sindhu will be able to retain the title of the tournament.

Catch the highlights of PV Sindhu winning the World Tour Final 2018.

Stay Rackonnected and learn more about sports

Follow us on FacebookInstagram to join our community of sports lovers.